Power Through Weakness

TODAY’S VERSE
“Each time he said, ‘My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.’ So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.”
II Corinthians 12:8-10 (NLT)

TODAY’S THOUGHT
We all have different skills and abilities. Some are natural, some are learned but many are honed through experiences. Good experiences and bad help us mature and add to our personal development. From our experiences we can reach out and help others. Paul was going through a bad experience and God told him that He would provide all the grace Paul would need. Paul could then testify to others how God’s grace was all he needed. Thornton Wilder, in “The Angel That Troubled the Waters” writes about a Physician who wanted to be healed but God did not heal him. Instead an Angel came and said this to the Doctor, “Without your wounds where would your power be? It is your melancholy that makes your low voice tremble into the hearts of men and women. The very angels themselves cannot persuade the wretched and blundering children on earth as can one human being broken on the wheels of living. In Love’s service, only wounded soldiers can serve.” Henri Nouwen expanded this concept in his book, “The Wounded Healer”.  He writes, “For a deep understanding of his own pain makes it possible for him to convert his weakness into strength and to offer his own experience as a source of healing to those who are often lost in the darkness of their own misunderstood sufferings.”  Christ wants to allow His power to be used through your weakness. Bring your weakness and troubles to Him today and begin helping others in the way Christ helps you.

TODAY’S PRAYER
Father, You know my struggles, my weaknesses and my human frailty. I come to You and ask for Your grace to give me all I need to be a wounded healer. Help me relate how Your grace has been sufficient for me. May your power be manifested in my weaknesses today.
AMEN

_____________________________________________________

CLICK HERE to send this to a friend

You can get Devog sent to your e-mail as “Moment In the Word”. CLICK HERE to have this Daily E-votional sent to your e-mail 

CLICK HERE to go to our BLOG Walking the Talk, and find out ways to help others.  

Do You Know What Your Spiritual Gifts Are?
Now You Can.
CLICK HERE to Get your FREE Spiritual GIfts Test and Workbook
Do you want to know how to be a Child of God? CLICK HERE to find out how. 

    

Leave a comment