Eyes Wide Open

TODAY’S VERSE
My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth! He will not let you stumble; the one who watches over you will not slumber – The Lord keeps you from all harm and watches over your life. The Lord keeps watch over you as you come and go, both now and forever.
Psalms 121:2, 3, 7, 8 (NLT)

TODAY’S THOUGHT
I once saw a little boy crying hysterically, afraid that his father abandoned him in a large crowd of people. I remember thinking how odd it was because his father stood beside him. Something had frightened the son, and, in his despair, he closed his eyes. As he cried, with his eyes shut, he was not aware of his father’s presence. It was not until the father picked the child up that he opened his eyes and returned to joy. How often are we like that little child? Something frightens us. It could be a confrontation, an anxious thought, or worse, some dread of future things. Faith seems to go out the window when our mind gets in that state. It is as if we stepped out of the presence of God when, in reality, what we did was shut our eyes. The Psalmist decided to go into his day with eyes wide open. He writes, “My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth! He will not let you stumble!”  He then affirms his faith by believing, “The Lord keeps watch over you as you come and go, both now and forever.” Today, open your eyes. Wipe away your tears. Look up; the Lord is here! He will watch over you and keep you from harm. Put your trust in Him.

TODAY’S PRAYER
Father, make me conscious of Your presence so I will put my faith in Your precious promises. The promise that You will watch over me and protect me. The promise that You will keep me from harm. Help me today, to open my eyes to Your power and love.
AMEN

______________________________________________

NOW YOU CAN HEAR A DIFFERENT MOMENT IN THE WORD ON YOUTUBE! Go to http://www.youtube.com/@ronovitt and You will find my channel. Click on playlists and go to Moment In The Word. Make sure to SUBSCRIBE so you will get them every day!

CLICK HERE to send this to a friend

You can get this Daily Devotional sent to your e-mail as “Moment In the Word”. CLICK HERE to have this Daily E-votional sent to your e-mail

Leave a comment